Helen Hall Library of League City, Texas has meeting rooms available for use by individuals, organizations, businesses and groups. Review the policies and access an application to apply for a meeting space.
Show All Answers
To create an account and receive a library card, you will need to bring in something that contains your name, and current living address.
Some options are:
These items (except for the valid Texas ID) can also be provided electronically on a smart device.
For more information, and other options for address verification, check out our Getting Started guide.
Don't want to wait in line? Fill out the online library card application.
Helen Hall Library no longer charges overdue fines for its overdue materials. Instead, items that are overdue by 30 days or more will be assumed lost and you will be charged the cost of the item plus a non-refundable processing fee of $5 per item. Returning assumed lost items will remove all associated lost charges and your account will be reinstated.
Questions? Consult our borrowing policy for more information or call us at 281-554-1120.
To reserve a book you will need to log into your online account with your library card number and PIN.
1. Log in
2. Search for the materials you want
3. Select the title
4. Select "place hold"
5. You will be prompted to select "place hold" again- (select it again)
You have correctly placed the title on hold if you see a window that says "success" and the option to select "OK."
With the parent/legal guardian present, a child can be signed up for a library card at any age.To sign a child up for a library card, the parent/legal guardian must provide proof of residence through one of the following options:
The Helen Hall Library provides extensive interlibrary loan services to members. Learn about those services.
A title may be renewed up to two times as long as no other library member is waiting for it (has the item on "hold").
The total limit for items checked out at any given time is 99.
It is completely free to replace a lost or stolen library card! Bring your driver's license to the front desk and a staff member will issue you a new card as well as deactivate your lost or stolen card.
Read to the Dogs is a volunteer program that partners therapy-trained dogs with children, grades 1 - 3, who need extra reading support. To enroll in this special program, call 281-554-1113 or email Ziba Cyrus. Registration is required.
The 1,000 Books Before Kindergarten program is a fun, exciting, and free way to start your child on the path to success!
Did you know that reading to your child helps them learn pre-reading skills such as understanding the sounds letters make, developing a bigger vocabulary, and building background knowledge—all important skills that help prepare your child for learning to read and entering Kindergarten.
Any child ages birth to five years can participate. Click here for more information.
Yes! The library hosts storytimes for three different developmental levels: Babies and Books: Infants from birth to walking Toddler Time: Ages one to three Preschool Storytime: Ages three to fiveFor more details, consult our calendar of events or call us at 281-554-1113.
All programs at Helen Hall Library are free! Always!
Anyone can use the computers at Helen Hall Library. You do not have to have a library card to use our computers.
Yes! The library offers computer classes on a variety of topics. Consult our class guide, call us at 281-554-1101, or reach out to Electronic Services Librarian Amelia Chau for more information.
The library has English conversation practice on Mondays at 6:30 PM and Wednesdays at 10:30 AM. For more information email Assistant City Librarian Darla Rance or call her at 281-554-1102.
Helen Hall Library cards never expire. The only time a library card will not work is if it has been replaced.
The library offers temporary electronic accounts that expire after 90 days.
For more information about user accounts, check out our Getting Started guide or contact Circulation Services at 281-554-1120.
If you have forgotten your PIN, call Circulation Services at 281-554-1120 and request your PIN. You must have either your library card number or your driver's license number to obtain this information.
The automated return system sometimes has updates, has experienced a power outage, or has a jam that can take it offline. Should this happen after hours, please keep the materials with you and try visiting us during open hours or trying the automated return again at your convenience. The library no longer charges late fines for overdue materials.
Yes, the library offers free Wi-Fi.
Helen Hall Library provides its users with access to a variety of research and reference databases!
When accessing databases from outside the library you will be required to enter your 14-digital library card number. A handful of databases are only accessible inside the library.
For more information, contact our Reference Services unit by phone at 281-554-1101 or submit a request for one-on-one research help.
Yes! A scanner is available at the business center next to the Reference Desk on the second floor. Documents and photographs may be scanned, e-mailed, faxed, or saved to a USB drive.
Yes! There are three study rooms on the second floor. The rooms are available on a first come first served basis and require sign-in at the Refence Desk.
You can renew your library materials over the phone by calling 281-554-1120. You can also renew your library materials online. To renew online you will need your library card number and PIN.On the library catalog page, the renewal option is under both the log in or my account options in the menu bar at the top right of the page. Once logged in, under the checkouts tab of your account, you will see the list of titles you have checked out with the due dates on the right. You can select all or individually select materials to renew. You will need to select renew and then confirm you would like to renew. The page will refresh and next to the item name there will be a note stating if the item was successfully renewed or not.
We do not keep a record of any materials that patrons check out in order to protect their privacy. For more information, please contact us by phone at 281-554-1120 or stop by and speak with a member of our Circulation team.
Helen Hall Library encourages patron-led programming for the benefit of our community! Please email Adult Services Librarian Joanne Turner or contact her by phone at 281-554-1103.
If you think you have lost a book, please contact a member of our Circulation team at 281-554-1120. If you can't find a book, you can renew it up to two times; if after you have renewed it twice, you still can't find it, the book will remain on your account for thirty days until the replacement cost is automatically charged to your account.
Caris Brown is your Local History Librarian and can assist with any inquiries regarding articles, images, primary sources and more related to local history. You can reach her by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 281-554-1105.
Printing services are available.Printing is $0.10 a page for black and white and $0.50 a page for color.Payments must be cash only.
A copier is available on the library's second floor.The cost is $0.10 a page for black & white and $0.50 a page for color copies.
The library welcomes donations of books, memorials, and other gifts. Opportunities are also available for members to serve on several boards. Find out more about how you can help.
The library provides various services to members, including fax services, wireless access, and more. Learn more about the services available.
Title placement and promotion services are available to local authors. Find out more about those services.
If you temporarily misplaced your library card you can use a valid Texas ID to check out your library materials.